Horoscopes is Greek for “Scoping the Hours”. Other commonly used names for horoscopes include natal chart, birth chart, astrology chart, astro-chart, celestial map, sky-map, or simply “chart”.

The Sun Signs

  • Aries – March 21 – April 20
  • Taurus – April 21 – May 21
  • Gemini – May 22 – June 21
  • Cancer – June 22 – July 22
  • Leo – July 23 -August 21
  • Virgo – August 22 – September 23
  • Libra – September 24 – October 23
  • Scorpio – October 24 – November 22
  • Sagittarius – November 23 – December 22
  • Capricorn – December 23 – January 20
  • Aquarius – January 21 – February 19
  • Pisces – February 20 – March 20

The horoscopesZodiac observes the band on the celestial sphere containing the Zodiac Signs. It is centered on the ecliptic, and its width is sufficient to allow for the fact that the orbits of the Moon and other planets are not parallel to the plane of the ecliptic.

For horoscopes, most astrologers use the Tropical Zodiac in which the astrological year begins with the vernal Equinox, when the Sun crosses the celestial equator and enters the sign of Aries. Other astrologers favor the Sidereal Zodiac which takes into account the precession of the Equinoxes.

The belief is that a person will have similar characteristics of mythic symbols that the ancients identified with the different constellations, ie, a “Libra” (the scales) will be balanced and stable, and that because the Planets are all found in the zodiac, the position of the Moon or a planet in a particular sign would also have an effect on the life, destiny and personality of that person. However, Sun Signs are the most powerful indicators of the individuals “self” or Ego.

Planets charted in horoscopes will have “aspects” or relationships to each other – some compatible, some not. The angular positions of planets in the zodiac signs and astrological houses at the moment of birth or other significant event, have various effects on the individual.

The signs in the horoscope are divided into categories. The first and most basic division is into OPPOSITES. Different terms are used to describe these pairings, such as masculine/feminine and positive/negative. Yin Yang, or introvert and extrovert, are possibly better ways to describe these opposing energies.

Fire and Air signs are Yang and are naturally extroverted. Yang signs are Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius. These signs are naturally compatible with each other.

Earth and Water signs are Yin and more introverted. Yin signs are Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn and Pisces. These signs also get along well together. Signs of opposite polarity are essentially quite different from one another. Consequently, relationships between these signs are more challenging.

The 3 Modes of Astrology

The 3 Modes of Astrology are Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. Cardinal relates to the four points of the compass and the four seasons. This is where change happens. Fixed refers to a stationary period of the seasons “those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer”. Mutable is a time “wrapping things up” in preparation for the coming transformations.

The 4 Elements of Astrology

The 4 Elements are particularly important in understanding the essential nature of your psychological makeup, where your consciousness is rooted and to what realm of experience you are attuned. The elements have traditionally been divided into two groups, fire and air being considered active and self-expressive, and water and earth considered passive, receptive, and self-repressive.

The Air Signs live in the abstract realm of thought, and a thought for them is just as real (indeed more real, as evidenced from their behavior) as any material object. The element air is connected with the mental or “causal” body and represents a type of consciousness attuned to the abstract thought patterns of the universal mind.

The Water Signs live in their feelings, and it is their emotional state that determines their behavior more than anything else. Water is correlated with the emotional or “astral” body, a type of consciousness dominated by intense yearnings and compelling desires.

The Fire Signs live in a state of highly excited, inspired activity. Maintaining that state of being is crucial for the fire signs to stay healthy and happy. The fire element is correlated with the ethereal or “vital” body, which acts as a transformer of the air and water energies to help support the functions of the physical body.

The Earth Signs are grounded in the material world. The material world and its considerations for survival and production are considered much more real than any other aspect of life. The earth element is symbolic of the “physical” body and attuned to the world of the physical senses and material forms.

Chinese horoscopes are not as concerned with constellations and planets. They instead move in 12-year cycles named after animals, starting with the Year of the Rat and ending with the Year of the Pig. The current cycle of the Chinese Zodiac began in 1984.

Using ancient principles of Yin Yang and the 5 Elements, Chinese astrology has rough equivalents to Western and Vedic astrology.

Explore Chinese Zodiac Compatibility.

Back to the top of Horoscopes.

Technorati Tags: , , ,